Top 5 Foods to try in Ghana.

Ghana is a beautiful country with wonderful and hospitable people and a very rich African heritage. One thing however that sets us apart is our delicious food ; spicy and as hot as it can get. I mean who can possibly enjoy a bland meal. It is just right.

Lets dive right into my list of top 5 foods you should try when you come to Ghana.

1.Apapransa

This a delicious and very satisfying meal prepared with cornmeal and palm nut soup. It is not the kind of food you’ll find on the streets of Ghana everyday. It is prepared specially and not everyone has that skill to pull it off. What I love most are the huge pre-cooked crabs used in garnishing the meal. Reminds me of the first time I tasted it but that will be a story for another day.

2.Abolo with Anchovy “one man thousand”

This is yet another delicious meal popular among the Ewes in Ghana, prepared with corn and rice flour, baking powder and yeast. It is best enjoyed with grounded red pepper and “one man thousand”.

3. Sweet potato porridge (mpotompoto)

I love this dish because I love sweet potatoes and also because it tastes good. Made with sweet potatoes, palm oil and dried herring this simple yet delicious meal is definitely sent from heaven.

4.Fried yam with green pepper sauce and fish.

Fried yam I’ll say is one of the most common snacks to get in Ghana. Home or not these are amazing, however I keep wondering why yam fried at home always has this subtle bitter taste and is not as crispy as the ones I buy from vendors. If you know why kindly leave a comment and help a sister fry better yam at home.

5.Waakye

Warped in Katemfe leaves also known as waakye leaves this meal is one of the meals enjoyed as breakfast in Ghana. Prepared with rice and beans it is mostly garnished with spaghetti, gari, vegetables with hot black pepper sauce accompanied with fried fish or eggs. Trust me if you come to Ghana and you don’t eat waakye “wetin you gain? “.

Well that’s my list of top 5 foods to try when you visit Ghana and who knows I could give you some hints on where to get these delicious delicacies next time. Till then.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Foods to try in Ghana.

Leave a comment